Our Stories, Our Story: A Great Dane, Moana, and the Baby Jesus

This is my column for the December 2016 issue of the First Church Simsbury newsletter, The Cornerstone.

My Harris ancestry is reasonably well documented. There is a church yard cemetery in Paoli, Pennsylvania where all my direct Harris ancestors are buried, going back to Thomas Harris who immigrated before the Revolutionary War. Then there is the vaunted “Green Book” that chronicles much of the early Harris history. Though well-documented and much talked about I have never had a keen interest in my Harris lineage. I have never felt an especially strong connection to these people.

I know much less about my mother’s Dane side of the family, hearing only occasional references to her mother’s German ancestry and father’s English roots. But when my mother came to Simsbury for Thanksgiving she brought some Dane genealogy with her including a family tree, written in my Uncle Sunny’s hand, going back into the 1600’s. Right there near the top was my forbear Reverend Francis Dane who emigrated from England in 1636. A few Google searches later I learned that Francis was the second minister of the North Parish Congregational Church in Andover, Massachusetts, the 37th church founded by Puritans. He and many in his family were accused of witchcraft, and his daughter Abigail was convicted. She escaped hanging because she was pregnant, and after petitioning the court for eleven years was finally exonerated. It is said of Rev. Francis Dane that he “was indeed to fight the plague with a heroism unequaled by any who had choice in the matter, risking not only his own life and reputation, but what must have come harder, the lives of nearly all the womenfolk in his family.”

I felt an immediate connection to Francis’ story. He was a Congregational minister who stood up against social forces that fearfully scapegoated, demonized and persecuted vulnerable people. Not only do I make a strong connection to my own call to ministry, like me, Francis had a remarkable daughter, Abigail!

Genealogy is enjoying a renaissance, fueled in part by websites such as ancestry.com that make it easier to identify our ancestors. For me, this is less about the DNA I share with Francis and more the connection I make to his story. On the same day I was discovering Francis’ story, my Abby was inspired by the new Disney movie, Moana, a mythical tale with a female, Pacific Islander hero (who looks remarkably like Abby). Francis provides a meaningful touchstone for me as a Dane, while Moana makes Abby’s Pacific Islander heritage come alive. But even as stories like these reveal connections across families and ethnic groups, they also exclude those who don’t share these ties.

But there is an extraordinary story we all share as Christians, a story that traces our lineage back to God through the birth of Jesus Christ! Our story includes a cast of characters to rival any Disney epic, a teenage girl, an evil king, angels and shepherds, an innkeeper, mystics from the East, and an infant laid in a cattle trough. Each year we gather to tell and retell this beloved story that joins us all to the family of God. In this story we find ourselves. Through this story we better understand who we are and whose we are.

Francis stood up for what was right at an important moment in American history. Moana saved her island people. But God, through Jesus, reveals the divine power of redemptive love that binds us all together forever.

Come to First Church over Advent, on Christmas Eve, and on Christmas morning as we again gather to tell this, our family’s story.

Published in: on November 30, 2016 at 4:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastorgharris.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/our-stories-our-story-a-great-dane-moana-and-the-baby-jesus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

